Please Help Support E-Mods.net by Donating

e-mods.net

• 2017-11-21, 23:11:41
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search

News:

Looking for VTMR Modding Tutorials? Check out the Open Nod Development section of e-mods.net.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: VtMR tools / porting to another engine  (Read 4243 times)

rsheffer

VtMR tools / porting to another engine
« on: 2015-05-20, 20:44:07 »

Hello!
My name is Ryan, I am an old school game developer who used to play a lot of VtMR, especially the Dungeon Master based multiplayer. I recently noticed the game was available on GoG and I bought it up.

Back in the day the modding community was pretty huge for this game, and I noticed it was still going here. It seems the tools never really matured for the game, and I want to change that, however; there might be a better path here, moving to another engine.

The fact is, it would be much easier to work in an engine like Unity or Unreal to make really awesome content, in a fraction of the time. But how would this be done? The data stored in the VtMR binaries are well documented and could be transitioned over to an exchange format such as FBX and then used in any modern engine. As for the games logic and structure, that could be re-written into a relatively generic game for Unity or Unreal. The models, animations and maps would then have to be used very carefully (batch tools to extract the VtMR's assets, convert them, and put them in the proper directories in the other engine), since you wouldn't be able to release the art without incurring the wrath of lawyers who are looking for things to do. I am getting a bit ahead of myself, this is just an idea you guys might be interested in.